Opening New Frontiers By Advancing The Promise of PI Signaling Pathways

Lewis C. Cantley, Ph.D.

Select a team to find out more

Lewis C. Cantley, Ph.D.

Lewis C. Cantley, Ph.D.

Scientific Co-Founder, Petra Pharma, Director of the Sandra and Edward Meyer Cancer Center at Weill Cornell Medicine

Dr. Lewis Cantley is credited with significant advances in cancer research resulting from his 1984 discovery of the signaling pathway phosphoinositide 3-kinase (PI3K). The author of more than 400 original papers, 50 book chapters and review articles, Lewis is a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and a member of the National Academy of Science, the Institute of Medicine of the National Academies and the European life sciences academy EMBO.

Lewis graduated summa cum laude with a B.S. in chemistry from West Virginia Wesleyan College in 1971 and earned a Ph.D. in biophysical chemistry in 1975 from Cornell University.  He conducted postdoctoral research at Harvard University, where he was appointed assistant professor of biochemistry and molecular biology in 1978. In 1985, Lewis became a professor of physiology at Tufts University, but returned to Harvard Medical School in 1992 as a professor of cell biology.  In 2002, he was named chief of Harvard’s new Division of Signal Transduction, and became a founding member of the school’s Department of Systems Biology.  In 2007, Lewis was named director of the Beth Israel Deaconess Cancer Center.  He joined Weill Cornell Medicine in 2012 as the Director of the Sandra and Edward Meyer Cancer Center.

His accolades include: the ASBMB Avanti Award for Lipid Research (1998); the Heinrich Wieland Prize for Lipid Research (2000); the Caledonian Prize from the Royal Society of Edinburgh (2002); the Pezcoller Foundation–AACR International Award for Cancer Research (2005); the Rolf Luft Award for Diabetes and Endocrinology Research from the Karolinska Institute, Stockholm (2009); the Pasarow Prize for Cancer Research (2011); the Breakthrough in Life Sciences Prize (2013); the Jacobaeus Prize for Diabetes Research from the Karolinska Institute (2013); the AACR Princess Takamatsu Memorial Lectureship (2015); the Ross Prize in Molecular Medicine (2015); the Canada Gairdner International Award (2015); the AACI Distinguished Scientist Award (2015); the Hope Funds Award of Excellence in Basic Science (2016); the Wolf Prize (2016); and the NCI Outstanding Investigator Award (2016).